Please or Register to create posts and topics.

The ThinkingWithPortals Map Showcasing Thread

PreviousPage 3 of 257Next
Robdon wrote:

Yes, I'm working on the lighting at the moment, as I'm not happy with it... Probably the hardest bit I think.

I think the map could use some natural light from the destroyed ceiling with some artificial lights mixed in.

aborttrap wrote:
This is my first attempt at a full-on map for Portal 2 (or the Source engine for that matter!), and let me simply say that I've been loving it the further you get into it :)

Looks fantastic so far for your first map!
The only thing that is bothering me is that dull-warmish-neutral looking light. Would it look better if it was cool? Perhaps a bit of color variance is what it needs.

?????????????????????????????TWP Releases | My Workshop
Marlovious wrote:
Looks good robdon, might be a little bright for a destroyed map though.

Ok, here they are again, but with darker lighting, and with fog and shadowing added...

Better?

Its amazing how much 'atmosphere' it can change by just adding these :)

Only problem is, its hard to get a balance between light/dark. Depending on if I do it in the daytime or later at night, and get something that works for both real life lighting/play times.

Click to enlarge:
Click to enlarge:
Click to enlarge:

My Portal2 Map: Trapped

My Travel Blog:

That looks alot better than before. I really like that look, please keep it! :thumbup:

First of all, I'm really encouraged by all the awesome screenshots that are being posted here. Especially from brand-new mappers! Second, I figured I'd toss in a screenshot of a project of my own. The water spouts are decorative but I'm not sure the player wouldn't try to use them; I'm thinking of adding a cage/glass tube down to the water surface to drive home the point.