Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Map titles

PreviousPage 2 of 3Next

don't know this command then? "maps *"

it lists all the .bsp files in the maps folder.

ive been mapping for about 5 years in hl and hl2 i know how to bring up all the commands and my experience is why im stressing this point. The more streamlined and professional something is the more it catches on. I really cant understand why you guys are throwing up so much flak on just adding a little bit before your map name?

eventually people will have about 50 custom maps loaded each, all with the same prefix... which is just as unhelpful as all 50 of them having no prefix.
But I can see where your coming from, there should probably be some standardised prefix. I went for pt_... because the way i pronounce it the P and T are the most prominat letters. although ptl_ or pl_ or por_ or even portal_ would do fine.

Well this problem goes hand in hand with the other issue I know plagues mappers. Naming sequences, you name a map jonssuperportal.bsp and you release it. Then a few hours later you find you are missing a texture or something so you re-compile and re-release jonssuperportal.bsp but you don't rename it....thats no good. When putting out a map for the first time don't use the name you really want to be the final. Put out something like this instead jonssuperportal_r1.bsp. Then just add up the "release" canadites until your satisfied and then you can go with jonssuperportal.bsp.

But "espen180_portal02" is okay right?

http://www.dpgames.co.uk/

Sanity is not statistical.