Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Where to start?!?

Having made a good faith effort to find information about starting levels/mods both on this site and many others, I have come to this conclusion:

1) There's alot of info
2) I'm confused

As this is my first post, I feel compelled to start with a short introduction:

I'm a programmer at a webhosting company. I have a degree in Graphics Design, which basically boils down to: I have 10 hours training in 3D Studio Max and $30K debt (which means I can't afford 3D Studio Max). The very first ever FPS style game I've EVER played on a PC is Portal. I, too, was entranced by the Companion Cube, and felt the game was too short.

However, I seem to have a personal storyline for the game that is much darker and sinister than I've seen elsewhere. Maybe we can talk about that elsewhere.

Now, with that out of the way...

I (like many other people) have an idea for a Portal mod. I've read the Portal docs on the Valve community site (as many as I can find), and read just about everything I can on this site's wiki, and a few other sites. I have installed the new SDK into my Steam, and given all the programs a once over.

I'm COMPLETELY NEW to the whole level building/modding idea. I feel like I have steps 5-50 in my head... I just lack steps 1-4.

So, my opening shot at the community is this:

1) Are there some really simple tutorials on getting a level togeather for Portal (I thought I found some two weeks ago(?) but naturally forgot to bookmark them). I'm talking "See spot run" here. I can model some 3D pretty decently, but I'm a bit rusty. (3d Environments, not so much 3D people...)

2) I tried using the Source SDK to "Create A Mod", only to get an error (to the general gist that I can make Engine 1 mods with this SDK, but not Orange Box Engine mods... and as Portal is the only game I have installed this don't work). Then again, maybe I'm getting ahead of myself?