Please or Register to create posts and topics.

What are your reasons/motivations for making maps?

Page 1 of 2Next

I was just curious, seeing as most modding communities these days are dead in the water, and most game developers refuse to release mod tools for their games, what keeps you motivated to be a modder? Is it just fun (this goes without saying) or is there something more?

To answer my own question, I already work in the game industry, but I am hoping to be a level designer one day. I know a few other engines pretty intimately, but this is my first attempt at learning Hammer... and I desperately miss some of the higher level features from some other programs, but I want to make some fucking sweet Portal 2 maps!

Well it's a different type of hobby. I mostly do it because I like being constructive instead of drooling at a tv 24/7.
Plus if it is a group effort you can meet some nice people ;).

?????????????????????????????TWP Releases | My Workshop
chickenmobile wrote:
Plus if it is a group effort you can meet some nice people ;).

And overly sarcastic people also.

My reason for mapping is to make people happy and it's one of few things that I'm talented at. Of course, there are people who map better than me, but that doesn't get me down. One major thing I learned from mapping in general is (pardon the expression) not to half-ass it.

Crazy is as crazy does.
My Work
[spoiler]Maps:
Revenge of the Angry Turrets
Capture the Cube [Co-op]
Capture the Cube 2 [Co-op]
TPWEGTH Sample Map
Aperture Aquatic Testing Center
Aperture Aquatic Testing Center 2
Aperture Time Testing Center
ML's Halloween Trick - 1000 downloads!
ML's Halloween Treat
ML's Combination - 1000 downloads!
ML's Jailbreak Labyrinth
ML's Tricky Teamwork [Co-op]
WIP:
"Capture the Cube 3"
Workshop Maps Link: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198008890579/myworkshopfiles/[/spoiler]