Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Recessed Lighting

Page 1 of 2Next

Hey guys, I'm new to this website. I've been looking for a good portal mapping community and it looks like I've found one. :0)

I don't have much to contribute yet since I'm new to mapping in Hammer (though I do have some experience in UnrealEd that will certainly transfer over).

However, I do have a question.

I'm working on my first map and I'm trying to add some recessed lighting to it. I'm using the light_recessedcool002 texture the same way the sample SDK map is, but for some reason only a single light source is created from the texture instead of a whole line of lights along the wall.

I've even tried directly copying the recessed lighting group objects right out of the sample map, but they do the same thing. I also tried recompiling the sample map to see if it was an issue with compiling/hammer similar to the common cubemap problems, but the sample map recompiled just fine.

Does anyone know what might be causing this? I've got all of the textures settings set identical to what the sample SDK map has, and I've tried multiple scalings/rotations, but I still only get one light source. Is there a properties page that I need to go to to configure texture-sourced lighting?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Check your map for leaks; radiosity may fail to generate properly if there are leaks anywhere, which will cause some funky lighting artifacts. Failing that, can you describe the problem more precisely? A screenshot, perhaps?

Link, mah boi, this peace is what all true warriors strive for!
Korjagun wrote:
Check your map for leaks; radiosity may fail to generate properly if there are leaks anywhere, which will cause some funky lighting artifacts.

Sweet. That was it. I had a HUGE gaping hole at the bottom of the starting elevator shaft. I feel like an idiot. :oops:

Is there a quick way to tell if your map had any leaks when you compile short of trying to load a pointfile?