Please or Register to create posts and topics.

No Story by Theprogram00

No Story was one of the November Mapping Contest maps, the theme for this contest being the Companion Cube Challenge. After playing and getting extremely stuck in another one of the contest maps, I started playing this map and I was very pleased overall with how it looked ad played. The visual theme of the map is very similar to the standard Portal maps, however with a much more "simplified" look and feel to the rooms. The texture useage is what you would expect and everything appears easily executed.

There are 5 puzzle chambers in the map, all of which require use of the Companion Cube to be completed as was a part of the contest's requirements. The puzzles range from "easily recognized and difficult to achieve" to "completable through constant repetition" but may require several uses of the Quick Load key. For example, looking at the first puzzle for only a few moments is enough to realize what is necessary to complete the puzzle - freeing the Companion Cube from a glass tube it is sitting in by bouncing an energy ball on it. Because of the large size of this room and the optical illusion that constantly repeated textures creates, coupled with the slanted edges that the energy ball is to be bounced against being hard to see because of similar textures, it can be tedious to simply get the energy orb where you need it to be without it going only a few inches off course and hitting some sort of minor obstacle. The first time I played the map I was able to solve the puzzle without any major issues, but I did run into troubles getting it where I wanted in later plays.