Please or Register to create posts and topics.

[Release] Common Prefabs for Portal (CP4P) version 1

PreviousPage 2 of 2

Version 1 released, details in opening post.

Good thing I put the sample level together, found quite a few buglets, including one that crashed HL2. Apparently telling a door to close on it's "OnClose" event is a bad idea, who'da thunk?

Known issues:

- The switch entities are parented to themselves, which doesn't work. (Fixed in not-yet-released v2)

- Fizzlers do not play OnDissolveBox unless the object they disintegrate is actually named "box" or similiar (anyone know the exact semantics? I can't simply rename the template boxes as one is a companion cube and one is a regular box and they need to be differentiated for spawning purposes.) (Not Fixed Yet)

Things that will probably be in next release:

* Basic Fizzler (128hx128w or so)
* Dynamic version of same that can be toggled on/off

Hammer noob here. I got the prefab installed, managed to get a door in my room, but now for the life of me I can't figure out what I need to let it open when the player gets near. So I inserted one of your buttons, but couldn't get it to let me edit it's output (so it would open the door if pushed).

Could you give me pointers on how to do this? Thanks.

Did you read the documentation? Every prefab in CP4P has a fairly comprehensive list of what needs to be done to tie it into the level.

And if you're new to hammer, I suggest reading a few tutorials first -- http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki ... vel_Design is a good place to start. Of particular interest would be:

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Your_First_Map
http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki ... nd_Outputs
http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki ... l_Creation

*Most* doors are activated by a button, switch, or something. Of course, if you really want a proximity-activated door you can do so with a trigger_multiple's OnStartTouchAll/OnEndTouchAll events.