Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Puzzle Creator Tech Info, Hacks, and Laughs

PreviousPage 10 of 11Next

Just so you know, you don't actually have to edit anything to edit PTI maps in Hammer. There is a built-in command for just that purpose. Simply go to the console while in the PTI editor and type

Code: Select all
portaleditor_export [mapname here]
Wow! That was...uh, yeah. Just, yeah.
BierPizzaChips wrote:
Say, guys, any chance to have an Angeled Panel being active 90 degrees to block a tunnel and being turn flat by activating a trigger? I am looking for something to open and close tunnels / walk throughs. But again, i am a Newbie and may miss the point. On the other had, if such a thing could be configured by a replaced editoritems.txt that would be soooo cool.

Actually, if you know how to configure hidden logic items (aka lasers and laser relays), you can put a button on the floor which opens the panel as if the player had passed through a trigger.

HMW wrote:
Out of the logic gates? Yeah, probably, as in: a row of buttons, some of which must be pressed and others not. You could then either show the wiring to the player so they can figure it out, or hide it away in a box somewhere and show the combination on a wall somewhere in huge, awesome 128x128 "pixels" :D

The latest update makes hiding antlines MUCH easier. It is now possible to set the visibility of the connection between two items.

I have an extremely hard time that it isn't possible to change the dimensions/tabs on the editor. I will look into this.

I told HMW a year ago I would release a map...I like to keep my word.

portal2_dlc1/scripts/ has a file called mapautocompile.txt I don't have any way to test at the moment, but it might have to do with the compiling of maps...