Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Least and favorite part of Portal 2 mapping?

We all love Portal and Portal 2, and many of us on this forum map for it as well, whether it's with PTI or Hammer. And I believe we can all agree that there are some things that you love about mapping, and a few things that utterly bore you about it, which typically leads to a traumatic case of endlessly-navigating-around-map-in-hammer-pressing-control-s-over-and-over syndrome. What is your favorite part of mapping, and what is your least favorite part of mapping?

Favorite: Detailing. I'm not very good at coming up with puzzle ideas and it can take quite a while for me to think of something, so I find detailing very relaxing. I can just put some music on and then rhythmically shift-drag square beams or clip walls.

Least favorite: Building the starting geometry. It's really uninspiring for me, since all I can imagine as I'm doing this is how the hell this is going to end up as a finished map. When you're starting, everything just looks like a bunch of blocky developer textures.

Favorite: scripting.

Least favorite: detailing. I'm not very good at it and can never get it to look right.

Falsi sumus crusto!

favorite: everything, exept...

least favorite: the once in a while where i have to divide a room with a wall, or i mess some small thing up with aligning things and the whole map is off as a result of that.

ImageImage
===========================
Im blue, a Clean Christian Furry with Autism.

Favorite: Small details and lighting. Even though a lot of the details I try to put it wouldn't be noticed by an everyday player, and would inevitably just lower framerates, I still like the process. And getting the perfect light ambience for a room just makes me feel kinda fuzzy inside.

Least favorite: Getting delay times right. I hate it when sounds overlap, or that one prop animates just half a second too early. I find it nearly impossible to get that kinda thing perfect.