Please or Register to create posts and topics.

i need advice - i want to improve

I've been a huge fan of Portal 2 since it came out and when the level designer came out, I made a lot of levels.

At first they were very simple, and in hindsight way too easy. So then I decided, to make my levels into giant complex labyrinth chambers. Realizing that the difficulty on these levels was not the actual requirement of skill, but just annoying and time consuming, I scrapped those.

I started playing levels by Romb, Geneosis, Elfarmerino, Leo, Mevious, etc. and they really opened my eyes. At first, even their easiest levels were way too hard for me, but then I learned a lot of concepts such as funnel pulling, reversing funnels to hold cubes, lightbridge hopping, infinite falling, sustaining momentum, etc. At first I implemented all of them in my level design, but it lacked the togetherness of many great levels I've seen, so that once those concepts were understood, the levels felt very empty.

After playing their levels (and levels from other people), I changed my perception of a good level from large long and complex, to simple and minimalist (but still challenging).

I want to make levels like that, but I always have difficulty. To those who make great levels, how do make them. Do you start with the exit and work your way backwards? Do you start at the beginning and improvise? Do you always know what concept you will use or does it naturally just happen when you discover it midway into making the chamber?

If someone has a video of them making a level, I'd like to see it.

Thanks for the help guys.