Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Attaching a security camera to a moving platform

So I am fairly new to the hammer community and tools. I have made simple maps, but now I want to work on something more unique. I want to place a security camera on a moving platform as my first part. If that is possible I would then like to make a camera on a flipping panel.

Currently I do not know how to make custom moving/flipping panel, and don't understand the tutorials because they use words I have yet to completely understand, like tying objects, and attaching objects.

Overall I need a great tutorial that can help me with a all of these problems. Thank you and I hope this all can be done!

If you have no idea on how that stuff works: Tying, attaching you should learn that first.
https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wik ... vel_Design is a great place to start.

What you want to do is parent the camera to the thing you want to move. Basically parenting tells your camera to stay at his parent, so if the parent moves so does the camera.

So yea, IF a camera can be attached you have to parent the camera to the moving platform and that should do the trick.

Thank you for the site, but while I was waiting for a response I went and learned what tying meant and how to attach blocks to panels. So I know how to make moving surfaces. Then I looked into connecting a camera in a similar fashion, but found the "npc_security_camera" has no parent parameter.

So from this point I am a little stumped. I am going to try out a few things, but if there are any other models of the security camera then the one I mentioned, that also has a parent class, I would be very happy to hear what it is. Anyways, thanks for the help, and here is to hoping this can be done!

You can disable smart edit, add a new keyvalue parent with the name of your panel as input...
IF a npc_camera can be parented, it should work, if it isn't working a npc_camera can't be parented ;)