Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Companion Cube Chronicles (spoilers inside)

Page 1 of 7Next

Just making this thread as a quick announcement for now.

I'm new to Hammer/SDK etc. Never touched it before, but Portal has given me a lot of enthusiasm to make more levels for it.

I thought the companion cube didn't get enough screentime. I want him back. So I'm making a collection of levels and puzzles based on Level 17's gameplay.

Companion Cube Chronicles is a working title obviously.

I've been scribbling down ideas since the day Portal was released and the weekend just gone I got myself to grips with the editor. To start with I'm just trying to make a test room with every entity that I'd need, all nice and working.

When it's complete I hope to have it to the same quality (HA HA. FAT CHANCE.) as Portal. With a proper beginning room and hopefully a decent ending sequence.

The whole thing won't just be re-mixes of Test chamber 17, there will be areas where you go without your cube for a while and do some regular portal challenges, aswell as a simple story to tie everything up nicely.

Like I said, at the moment this is nothing more than an announcement. I'll be using this thread for updates, requests for help/testers and others' feedback.

Now, tell me I haven't got a chance in hell and should stick to something small. :)

Companion Cube Chronicles WIP:
Story: 22.22222% Design: 33.33333%
Levels: 4.44444% Cake: 0.00000%
Voices: 0.0^3% in base 4
New models & Textures: ((e^28/pi*7)/0 - 42)%
Grief counseling: 111.11111%
Wroth wrote:
Now, tell me I haven't got a chance in hell and should stick to something small. :)

You haven't got a chance in hell and should stick to something small!

No, definatly not, if you put your mind to it and have enough patience you can do it. But it IS a hell of a task for someone that started mapping just the other day, so it WILL be hard, it WILL take a long time.